Birthday Bash- Evernight Publishing- Romance on The Go

Evernight Bash Banner 1

 

Celebrating the birthday of the wonderful publishing house Evernight Publishing means lots of little goodies. Read on below for 3 teasers and 3 author interviews from the Romance On the Go line from the great Evernight Publishing! Until October 7th everything is 40% off (ebook) so don’t miss out and see if any of the three great authors below catch your eye!

 

aroused

Aroused by Angelina Rain

Can two wrongs make a right? 

Nadia’s happy home became a prison when a tragedy ended her marriage to the man of her dreams. Six months after he left, she’s still wearing his ring and can’t seem to get over him. All she wants is to forget, to encounter a complete stranger who can arouse her to the point of complete abandon. 

When a handsome customer at work proposes a night of passion, Nadia battles with the choice to give in or walk away.  But his playful teasing is too difficult to ignore. When desire and emotion collide, she realizes she’s not the only one in pain, and not the only one living with past hurts. Can a single night of sexual awakening heal them both?

 

Interview with Angelina Rain:

-Every author has had a struggle, from plots not working, to publishers not being interested, what has been your greatest challenge on your journey to writing? Do you have any advice to share on how you surpassed the challenge? 

My greatest challenge is the ending. Every time I get to that point where I could smell the ending, I get so excited that I rush through it, making the story end in a very abrupt way. Thankfully, there are these wonderful people known as editors who always remind me to end the story properly. 

-Of course I have to ask the timeless question, if you had to pick one author to read for the rest of your life, who would it be and why?

It’s so hard to choose just one author as I have so many favorites. If I really had to pick it would be Nora Roberts. Her backlist is a mile long and she releases many new books a year so even if I only got to read her books for the rest of my life, there would be plenty of new material for me to read.

-Just what does your spouse have to say when you get into writer mode during the bedroom scenes?

I divorced my spouse but when we were together he was not a fan of my bedroom scenes. The man became very vanilla after we tied the knot, and I can’t even imagine myself being so tame.

-Who would you say is your author bestie? Who would you love to collaborate on a novel with?

I would love to co-write with Janet Evanovich. She’s my favorite author when it comes to comical romance and her heroes as so sexy. I wish I could pick her brain and learn how to write humor.

-If you could live in the world you’ve created would you? Why or why not?

I don’t really create alternate worlds. I tend to mostly write erotic contemporaries and the occasional paranormal is still set in a very contemporary world.

-Authors all have their own schedules and quirks when writing a novel. Some like a certain room in the house, others a certain time of the day. Do you find yourself writing better under certain circumstances?

I write best when my desk is clean, when the weather is on the cool side, and with some hot tea as my liquid inspiration. Summertime is horrible for me. I can’t concentrate on writing, it’s too hot.

-Are any of the characters in your novels based on people from your life? Care to share any that are?

Well of course. People I don’t like tend to pop up in my books. For example, the cheating, impotent ex-boyfriend from Flames of Desire was based on an ex of mine.

-If you were to get stuck all alone with any one of your characters, which one and why? 

I only get to pick one? Hmmm. I would pick Cole from Aroused. I like the way he dominated Nadia in the bedroom, and would enjoy having her experience.

-What would you say the difference is between writing a novel and writing a novella? Is it harder for you to scale back and keep things concise enough for the smaller manuscript or do you sometimes find it easier?

I enjoy writing novellas a lot more than novels. I like to stick to the point so writing shorter works is easier for me as I don’t have to expand and draw things out. And at the current stage of my life I don’t have the time to write long books and I’m very happy that Evernight Publishing has their Romance on the Go line.

-You’re forced to only read one book for the rest of your life- what is it?

Noooooo! I feel like there are way too many great books out there for me to only pick one. I would not be able to read only one book for the rest of my life. 

 

 

my_biggest_fanMy Biggest Fan by Lea Bronsen

Blurb:

Shawn Torien is a handsome, arrogant bassist with the groove rock band Bloodless. At thirty four, he’s seen everything, been everywhere, and all is handed to him on a silver plate—groupies included. His rock star attitude is questioned when the record company’s young webmistress Samantha joins the band to cover their life on the road.

Since she has crushed on Shawn for years, he takes great pleasure in teasing her and pushing her away… until he learns about the woman beneath the surface.

 

Interview with Lea Bronsen

– Every author has had a struggle, from plots not working, to publishers not being interested, what has been your greatest challenge on your journey to writing? Do you have any advice to share on how you surpassed the challenge?

My greatest handicap is writing in a foreign language, but I refuse to let it stop me from targeting the English-speaking book market. My best advice on surpassing this particular problem is to surround yourself with friends who take the time to edit your work and to consult writing groups before submitting to publishers. And—this goes for native English speakers, too—make sure you have a dictionary available at all times *smile*

– Of course I have to ask the timeless question, if you had to pick one author to read for the rest of your life, who would it be and why?

It would have to be Cody McFadyen, because reading his thrillers (especially the first one in the Smoky Berrett series, Shadow Man) was like an awakening. With his words, he found a way into my soul and shook me. Profoundly. His writing is top-notch, intense, and full of emotions, gore, frantic action, and suspense. It doesn’t necessarily leave me with a good feeling, but I’m the kind of person that is drawn to this genre and feeds on it.

– Just what does your spouse have to say when you get into writer mode during the bedroom scenes?

Ha! Good question. My husband knows I write erotic scenes but seldom reads my work, so I, ahem, make sure to compensate when I’m off writer mode…

– Who would you say is your author bestie? Who would you love to collaborate on a novel with?

While struggling with my debut novel last year, I met D.C. Stone, a terrific person and highly talented author who taught me the basics of the writing craft and guided me through every step of the publishing process. I’m very proud and honored to be currently collaborating on a romantic suspense novel with her!

– If you could live in the world you’ve created would you? Why or why not?

No, I write fictitious stories because they are fantasies that allow me to evade reality. I still make those worlds as realistic and plausible as possible in order to pull the readers into my characters’ heads and make them “live” their stories. That being said, I might want to experience some of the hotter scenes myself, too. *grins*

– Authors all have their own schedules and quirks when writing a novel. Some like a certain room in the house, others a certain time of the day. Do you find yourself writing better under certain circumstances?

The busy life I lead as a full-time worker and mother of three children does not allow me to schedule my writing time. I have adapted to that uncertainty by learning to focus on/off and taking notes at any available moment, on any writing device, any place.

– Are any of the characters in your novels based on people from your life? Care to share any that are?

All my characters have bits and pieces from real people—some are even inspired by an eye-catching look, pose, or appearance in a film/photo—but none are directly based on persons I know. Which is probably a good thing, as most of my characters are broken souls to whom I’m pretty sure no one wants to be connected 😉

– If you were to get stuck all alone with any one of your characters, which one and why?

Can I really pick one? *beaming* I would choose Michaela, the gorgeous, long-haired Italian bicyclist in my erotica WIP. Though I made him irresistible for my heroine, I obviously like him myself, and he’s still enough of a mysterious person for me to want to…uh…explore him a little more.

– What would you say the difference is between writing a novel and writing a novella? Is it harder for you to scale back and keep things concise enough for the smaller manuscript or do you sometimes find it easier?

It depends on how much detail you want to put into a story. How much backstory it needs, how long you want to dwell describing the setting and explaining emotional behaviors, how many plots you weave into the story arc, and what kind of developments your main characters require. I totally love the sense of freedom and profusion of time the novel length gives me to develop a story, but producing 80-100 K is exhausting and takes a lifetime! In comparison, hitting the submit button after just a few weeks of condensing a story into a shorter format grants a speedier process and, if you’re lucky, instant gratification.

 – You’re forced to only read one book for the rest of your life- what is it?

I would definitely choose Ken Follett’s “The Pillars of the Earth”. This seemingly endless (1000-something pages) chronicle and its sequel are the kinds of books that reveal new layers each time you give them a read. They not only take place in a very captivating, agitated time in European history—the medieval age—but their story arcs span over several decades with a mind-blowing amount of well-developed characters, multiple intricately interwoven plots, and a wealth of detailed setting descriptions. How Mr. Follett managed to keep track of it all is beyond me!

 

TPOE_The Prince of Elantis by Lyn Brittan

Blurb:

The only thing Prince Seljuk wants is peace for his people. Too bad everything around him is falling in place for an underwater Armageddon. Theft and murder are the new normal. If Seljuk has any hope of survival, he’ll have to rely on the land dwelling, human loving, Amber Luz.

Annoying, beautiful, and a terrible cook, she’s all that stands between success and total disaster. If they don’t kill each other, they just may save the world.

 

Interview with Lyn Brittan

-Every author has had a struggle, from plots not working, to publishers not being interested, what has been your greatest challenge on your journey to writing? Do you have any advice to share on how you surpassed the challenge? 

Life has a way of getting between where you are and where you want to be. Fight back. You must make the time to write. Be selfish with your minutes and devote as many as you can to your craft. It’s hard to find an hour to write once your day has started, so these days I wake up early and try to get in at least a thousand words before breakfast.

-Of course I have to ask the timeless question, if you had to pick one author to read for the rest of your life, who would it be and why?

Mercedes Lackey, without question. There’s not much I have in common with any of her characters, yet she manages to pull me in, make me fall in love with them and cry as they struggle. She’s a true wordsmith.

-Who would you say is your author bestie? Who would you love to collaborate on a novel with?

My author bestie and dream collab partner is an old friend who is about to come out with a book. We’ve shared so much through the years (ohhhhh, the stories we could tell), that I’d love to add writing with her to our long list of adventures.

-If you could live in the world you’ve created would you? Why or why not?

In The Prince of Elantis, Seljuk and Amber come from a watery world that floats alongside our own. Chhh’yeah, I’d love that. I’m the woman who finds herself glued to articles of new discoveries and lost cities at sea. I spazz out at the fact we’ve only explored 95% (yeah, really) of the world’s oceans and the hope that brings of one day finding something spectacular.

-Authors all have their own schedules and quirks when writing a novel. Some like a certain room in the house, others a certain time of the day. Do you find yourself writing better under certain circumstances?

I can write though jumping dogs, cats playing chase and any sort of shark infested tornadic activity, as long as I have my tools of the trade: index cards, highlighters and writing journal.

-Are any of the characters in your novels based on people from your life? Care to share any that are?

Why, I’m sure I don’t know what you mean  *bats heavily glued eyelashes*

-If you were to get stuck all alone with any one of your characters, which one and why?

The noble part of me wants to name one of my female characters: Fanchon-Marie, a business owner or Dr. Amber Luz, but being stuck on an island with Luca or Seljuk, rich and heartbreakingly beautiful princes, wouldn’t be a bad day.

-What would you say the difference is between writing a novel and writing a novella? Is it harder for you to scale back and keep things concise enough for the smaller manuscript or do you sometimes find it easier?

Novels and novellas are so vastly different creatures that I have to figure out what I want the story to be, before writing the first word. Pacing is everything with shorter works and it can be a struggle to make sure your characters aren’t being lurched from one thing to another, while keeping it still plausible. No matter what though, the index card method will work for both types of plotting.

-You’re forced to only read one book for the rest of your life- what is it?

Man of My Dreams¸ by Johanna Lindsey. It was the first ‘grown up’ book I read and vividly I remember stitching together a fabric bookcover, so I could read it in the back of Sunday School. (I know…I know…and my mother was teacher too. WHOOPS!)

To this day, it is a book that always warms my heart.

 

 

One response to “Birthday Bash- Evernight Publishing- Romance on The Go

  1. Pingback: Homepage·

Leave a Reply

